Nrtta sadhana

Nrtta Sādhanā

Nrtta is described in the old texts as 'the dance that makes you feel without any type of emotion'. It is also known as the sacred dance of Lord Shiva.

There are 108 karana’s described, but only 36 are used for self cultivation (yoga). The others are used for preforming arts.

A Karana exists out of 3 parts:

  • 1. Bodily posture
  • 2. Hand pose and
  • 3. Movement of the feet.

These karana’s are smaller and finer movements than the Shadow Yoga postures. That is why it is important to start with the preludes described in the Shadow yoga because these forms prepare the student and cultivate coordination of body and limbs, breath and focus.

The Nrrta exists out of 3 forms. Nicolet Montanus has studied these forms since 2009 with her teachers Sundernath (Shandor Remete) and Emma Balnaves. Recently she started teaching the first form Ashta Matrika’s (the mother eight palms) in workshops only.

Most of the asana's taught in Hatha Yoga schools today are adaptations of the standing and squatting karana’s practiced in the Nrrta. By practicing the Nrtta the student will develop gracefulness and will discover the rhythmic life currents hidden in the body.